Xiaomi Mi 10 Ultra Extreme Commemorative Edition Review: 120W Ultra Fast Charge, 120 Megapixel Portrait Lens

0

After 10 years of development and accumulation, on the occasion of the 10th anniversary of Xiaomi, Xiaomi officially released a masterpiece of the flagship product- Xiaomi Mi 10 ultra Extreme Commemorative Edition, which combines Xiaomi’s ten-year classic craftsmanship, and also released a number of black Technology, to show users the performance and configuration of a true high-end flagship.

The Mi 10 Extreme Commemorative Edition is available in four different versions, 8GB+128GB at 5299 yuan, 8GB+256GB at 5599 yuan, 12GB+256GB at 5999 yuan, and 16GB+512GB at 6999 yuan.

Design & Appearance

Since putting aside “no design is the best design”, Xiaomi has achieved a supplementary-class advancement in body design. In this decade, it has left three monuments that make rice fans “unforgettable”: Xiaomi The ceramic version of 5, the bright silver version of Xiaomi Mi6, and the transparent exploration version of Xiaomi 8.

Mi 5 Ceramic Edition → Mi 6 Bright Silver Edition → Mi 8 Transparent Exploration Edition

The Xiaomi Mi 10 Extreme Commemorative Edition will re-enact all of the above at one time, launching a total of three different body versions, namely ceramic black, bright silver, and transparent. The one in our hand is the bright silver version, which makes people quite emotional at first glance:

Three years ago, the Mi 6 Bright Silver Discovery Edition was just a precious thing that could not be mass-produced-the electroplating and coloring process must be completed in a dust-free vacuum environment, and a single particle of dust will make the entire piece of glass useless. At that time, the yield rate was only 6%, valued at 100,000 yuan, and limited to 100 units.

Three years later, the mass production problem was finally solved-the the evaporator was repeatedly superimposed on the 7-layer coating of about 300nm and directly compounded on the glass of the Mi 10 Extreme Edition to achieve a high reflectivity of 92%. The mirror reflection effect is matched with high reflectivity. Bright silver, the essence of the legendary Mi 6 Bright Silver Discovery Edition is reproduced from the original.

 

The glass back shell of the Mi 10 Extreme Commemorative Edition can be used as a mirror, blended with the bright frame, and has an excellent look.

On the front of the Mi 10 Extreme Commemorative Edition, in addition to the refresh rate upgraded from 90Hz to 120Hz and the touch sampling rate increased to 240Hz, the size, resolution, and screen material (OLED screen provided by Huaxing Optoelectronics) are basically the same as those of the previous Mi 10 series. No difference. In addition, the perforated design is still adopted, the aperture is not too large, and it is set in the upper left corner. Close-up of the “chin”, top flagship-level border control, needless to say.

Compared with the Xiaomi Mi 10 series, the major change in the appearance of the Mi 10 Extreme Commemorative Edition is the rear camera module, which is changed from the original exclamation mark design to a huge matrix.

It is worth noting that the top periscope is made of a bright silver high-gloss decorative ring, which has a high degree of discrimination. The ambient light sensor, flash, and laser focus sensor are placed on the side of the main camera. Finger block.

Due to the four-camera module led by two outsole lenses + the equivalent of 4500 mAh dual-cell large battery + complete NFC, wireless charging module and other crazy piles of materials, the body of the Xiaomi Mi 10 Extreme Commemorative Edition has become a little bit huge.

Compared with the Xiaomi Mi 10 Pro, the thickness has increased from 8.96mm to 9.45mm, and the bodyweight has increased from 208g to 221.8g, and the weight is mainly concentrated in the lower part of the body, which is not as thin and light as the previous Xiaomi 10 series. , But still acceptable.

At the top, in addition to the standard microphone opening, the ancestral infrared has been retained, and there is an antenna slot at the top. The bottom design is very compact, the SIM card slot, microphone opening, Type-C interface, speaker openings are all set here, and there is an antenna slot. The legendary 120W charger finally sees the light.

Mi 10 Extreme Commemorative Edition Performance

Compared with the Xiaomi Mi 10 Pro, which has reached the top of the Android camp in terms of performance, the performance of the Mi 10 Extreme Commemorative Edition has naturally not changed much. It is equipped with 2020 flagship SOC Snapdragon 865, LPDDR 5 memory. It is worth noting that in terms of flash memory, Xiaomi Mi 10 Extreme Edition finally uses UFS 3.1, and also supports an optimization method similar to SSD-Write Turbo, adding a high-speed cache area to UFS 3.1, so that its read and write speed also has a substantial Promote.

The Snapdragon 865 is still Qualcomm’s top flagship since its release. The specific parameters are already well known, so there is no need to go into more detail: the A77 architecture, 1+3+4 core design, improves performance while reducing power consumption. Compared with the Snapdragon 855, CPU performance has increased by 25%, and power consumption has been reduced by 25%. The GPU is upgraded to Adreno 650, with a 25% increase in performance and a 35% reduction in power consumption.

It is worth mentioning that the Mi 10 Extreme Commemorative Edition in our hands is equipped with 16GB LPDDR 5. According to the introduction, the data access speed of LPDDR 5 has been increased by 50%, while power consumption has been reduced by more than 20%. The extended battery life has been significantly improved.

Next, we will take a look at the performance of the Xiaomi Mi 10 Extreme Edition through running a sub-software test and game test. However, it needs to be explained in advance that the system on the evaluation machine in our hands is different from that of the commercially available machine. For the purpose of confidentiality during the evaluation, the network access of the running software was disabled, so software such as GFXbench and Master Lu could not be run.

Therefore, the running scores here are only for initial reference, and the final scores are recommended to be based on the results after the listing.

1. AnTuTu evaluation

AnTuTu Evaluation is a commonly used mobile phone comprehensive performance testing software in China. It can test the performance of the mobile phone’s CPU, GPU, memory, and user experience, and show it through quantified scores.

The overall score of the Mi 10 Extreme Commemorative Edition is 648,151 points, which is still an improvement compared to the Mi 10 Pro, which is around 590,000 points.

2. GeekBench

Introduce, GeekBench is a cross-platform CPU performance test tool, which can accurately reflect the single-core and multi-core performance of the device’s CPU. The single-core performance can reflect the pros and cons of the CPU architecture design and the operating frequency. Multi-core results can reflect the efficiency of multiple CPU cores working at the same time.

3. Androbench

AndroBench is a flash memory testing software that can test continuous read and write, 4K random read and write, database speed, etc.

The speed test results of the Mi 10 Extreme Edition are significantly different from those of the Mi 10 Pro, which can also be seen as the difference between UFS 3.1 and UFS 3.0.

It can be seen that the continuous read and write speeds of the Mi 10 Extreme Edition have soared to 1750MB/s and 783MB/s respectively, which are both increased by about 6% to 7% compared with UFS 3.0 flash memory. The 4K random read and write performance is also outstanding, mainly because the F2FS system partition is used. This partition method will greatly improve the random read and write performance, and the test results are consistent with the standard rate.

4. Game performance test

This time we selected “Peace Elite” for testing, all using the highest picture effect that can be turned on by the Mi 10 Extreme Commemorative Edition, and using the software PerfDog to record the number of frames.

“Peace Elite” is currently one of the most popular shooting games on mobile platforms. It has extremely high FPS requirements and therefore limits the number of frames. At present, the Xiaomi Mi 10 Extreme Edition can only choose ultra-high in the frame number setting to play “Peace Elite”-that is, lock 40 frames to run the game.

At this time, the performance of the Mi 10 Extreme Edition is still excellent. As can be seen from the chart, the FPS is basically stable at around 40.

GPU settings

The Xiaomi Mi 10 Extreme Edition has opened the adjustment settings for the GPU. You can freely adjust the game picture quality, maximum frame rate, and battery life by interfering with the GPU according to your needs. It is worth mentioning that among the custom gears, multiple PC game screen parameter adjustment items such as anti-aliasing, anisotropic filtering, texture filtering quality, frame rate, resolution, graphics driver parameter detection, and optimization, etc. are opened, which can be played Very high sex.

In general, the Mi 10 Extreme Edition equipped with Snapdragon 865+LPDDR 5+UFS 3.1 has reached its peak in terms of overall performance. Especially with Write Turbo technology used with UFS 3.1, the continuous reading and writing speed has been improved. Caching technology is not optimized for running scores. For actual use, the read and write of large files have been significantly improved, and it is more practical.

Mi 10 Extreme Commemorative Edition Cameras

When we got the Mi 10 Extreme Commemorative Edition, the official did not mention the main camera model, so we got the specific model of the camera module of the machine through debugging: 4800-pixel main camera OV48C+IMX586 periscope telephoto lens+ IMX350 20 Megapixel super wide-angle lens + Samsung S5K2L7 120 Megapixel portrait lens.

The main camera OV48C is quite strange to us. This is a lens customized by Xiaomi in Howe. In order to achieve differentiated effects in imaging, manufacturers seem to have long been dissatisfied with the public solutions of Sony IMX686 and Samsung GW1. Customized main cameras have become a trend in recent years.

Around 2020 alone, Samsung ISOCELL Bright HMX, Sony IMX700, Sony IMX689, Samsung GN1, etc. have appeared one after another. The corresponding models of these main cameras have also shown quite strong capabilities in imaging. Although some focus on the number of pixels, and some focus on HDR capabilities, they can all be attributed to the main camera category.

OV48C is also a main camera with an outsole. The photosensitive element area is 1/1.32 inches, which is larger than the 100-megapixel ISOCELL Bright HMX sensor (1/1.33) of the Xiaomi Mi 10 series, and slightly smaller than the Sony IMX700 (1/1.28). ).

Sony and Samsung are undoubtedly the first and second manufacturers in the CIS field, and the third-largest manufacturer is OmniVision Technologies, also known as OmniVision. It was an early supplier of image sensors for iPhone cameras and was acquired by a Chinese company in 2016.

For more ordinary users, Howe’s image sensor is not as well-known as Sony and Samsung. This time the OV48C can be regarded as a rookie in the top CIS field. It can have the opportunity to be used by Xiaomi for its own extreme version of the model to hit a new level of imaging. I believe it has passed Xiaomi’s careful trade-offs, tests, and considerations, and obtained the latter’s equivalent trust.

Detailed analysis of OV48C

OV48C is designed for Quad Bayer and adopts PureCel Plus technology. It can output up to 48 Megapixel pictures natively and can output 12 Megapixel pictures through the four-in-one pixel. The photosensitive element area is 1/1.32 inches. The large size combined with the relatively conservative number of pixels means that the large pixel size of 1.2μm can also be achieved in high pixel mode.

Naturally in the pixel four-in-one mode, the OV48C can achieve an equivalent 2.4μm pixel size, which greatly improves the performance in the dark environment.

In terms of video, OV48C supports shooting of 48 Megapixel videos at a maximum of 15 frames/sec, 4K/2K video at 60 frames/sec, 1080P video at a maximum of 240 frames/sec and 720P video at a maximum of 360 frames/sec.

It is worth mentioning that OV48C supports chip-level HDR function, which can eliminate motion artifacts and perform an excellent signal-to-noise ratio.

In addition, OV48C also uses 4C half-shielded phase detection technology to achieve fast autofocus.

Thanks to the customized OV48C, the main camera sensor hardware supports dual native ISO Fusion ultra-dynamic technology, which can have dual-sensitivity ISO fusion images when the image is output from the sensor.

When using the Mi 10 Extreme Commemorative Edition to take photos in a high light ratio environment, use dual native ISO to image two images separately, low native ISO to obtain high-light but not exposed photos, high native ISO to obtain dark and detailed photos, and combine the two photos Synthesize into a super dynamic photo with greater dynamic range, better latitude, and better noise control.

Through the normal/super dynamic images obtained by manually turning off/on HDR at the same time period and at the same place, we can get a glimpse of the powerful HDR capability of this OV48C on the Xiaomi Mi 10 Extreme Commemorative Edition.

In terms of night scenes, the size of the photosensitive element of the OV48C has reached 1/1.32 inches, the single-pixel size has reached 1.2μm, and the four-in-one 2.4μm super-large pixel has a very strong photosensitive performance. With the 8P lens, the sensor size and lens specifications have reached the top level, in the dark night, also has excellent performance.

It can be clearly found that night scene shooting has also obviously gained the gain of dual native ISO Fusion super dynamic technology. While shooting at night to raise the ISO, it does not bring obvious noise, and the dynamic range is large and the tolerance is better.

The almost ubiquitous dual native ISO Fusion is the most obvious difference between the imaging system of this work and the Mi 10 series, which is unique to the Mi 10 Extreme Commemorative Edition.

IMX586

Just looking at the paper parameters, you can understand the “horror” of the Xiaomi Mi 10 Extreme Commemorative Edition in the telephoto aspect: Sony IMX586 is even the best main camera sensor in 2019, and this year there are also some flagship models. Continue to use it, and it has become a telephoto lens in the Mi 10 Extreme Commemorative Edition.

Such a large CMOS can be used in the periscope structure of the Mi 10 Extreme Commemorative Edition, which is really amazing. Looking at the entire mobile phone industry, only Samsung’s flagship Galaxy S20 Ultra uses the same IMX586 solution.

As a result, the Mi 10 Extreme Commemorative Edition achieves an equivalent 10x zoom and 120x digital zoom. Next, we look directly at the proofs.

The night scene algorithm is a hurdle that prevents the telephoto end of the Mi 10 Extreme Commemorative Edition from hitting the peak in the dark scene and reaching a higher level. In the experience, we found that the night scene mode of the Mi 10 Extreme Commemorative Edition can only support up to 2X (that is, the image cropped by the main camera), and the night scene mode cannot be used for imaging above 2X.

This means that the IMX586 periscope telephoto of the Mi 10 Extreme Commemorative Edition can almost only fight alone at night. With its relatively strong hardware foundation, it can output night shots. I believe that with the subsequent algorithm upgrade, the Mi 10 Extreme Commemorative Edition will be longer There is still the potential for further stunning performance when shooting in dim light.

The periscope telephoto lens is almost impossible to use without OIS optical image stabilization. The periscope telephoto part of the Xiaomi Mi 10 Extreme Commemorative Edition uses a split OIS, which offsets the effects of jitter through the deflection and lateral movement of the right-angle prism and the AF focusing movement of the lens group, which allows us to take hand-held ultra-telephoto proofs.

As for the portrait lens and ultra-wide-angle lens, it is exactly the same as the Mi 10 Pro. Here I mainly experienced a 20-megapixel ultra-wide-angle lens, equivalent to 12mm, which can provide a large field of view of 128°, and at the same time, through the ultra-wide-angle distortion correction, the edge of the picture is more natural. Ultra-wide-angle shooting mode (Ultra-wide-angle provides a very wonderful composition and framing space)

Battery

As early as March 2019, Xiaomi Lin Bin first announced the 100W fast charge for Xiaomi. It was not until the first half of this year that Lu Weibing said that the 100W fast charging technology has entered the early stage of mature mass production. Nowadays, the mass production of 100W fast charging has finally come true.

120W fast charge charger specifications

The Mi 10 Extreme Commemorative Edition is the first batch of smartphones in the world to achieve mass production of 120W wired charging. Specifically, two charge pumps with a conversion rate of 98.5% are customized in parallel, and the high voltage of the charger is charged through half-voltage direct charging. It is converted into a low-voltage charging path directly received by two battery shells and directly input into the battery.

Such a scheme can realize the current shunt during the charging process and avoid concentrated heating, and the high conversion rate of the charge pump of 98.5% can also reduce the energy loss during the conversion process. This is the way to realize the 120W wired charging of the Mi 10 Extreme Commemorative Edition. In addition to using 120W wired charging, the Mi 10 Extreme Commemorative Edition also supports 50W wireless charging and 10W wireless reverse charging.

The actual measurement found that the 120W wired fast charge can make the 4,500 mAh battery of the Xiaomi Mi 10 Extreme Commemorative Edition return from 1% to 100%, which only consumes 23.5 minutes. It is worth mentioning that we are charging when turned on. If the charging is turned off, the speed will be faster.

Next, we test the battery life of the Xiaomi Mi 10 Extreme Commemorative Edition through the game.

In the case of 70% brightness, 30% volume, UHD+Ultra high frame, the discharge statistics of the single-cell we monitored are shown in the figure. Since the Mi 10 Extreme Commemorative Edition uses dual batteries, the discharge current should theoretically need to be doubled. From this, it can be estimated that the game life of the Mi 10 Extreme Commemorative Edition under this test condition can reach 5.6 hours.

5. 5G performance test

The Mi 10 Extreme Edition relies on the Snapdragon X55 baseband of the Snapdragon 865 platform to implement SA+NSA dual-mode 5G and supports n1, n3, n41, n78, n79, and other frequency bands.

Operators’ 5G network construction is still advancing steadily. When the actual network speed is measured, because the network stability of different regions, different times, and different operators may be different, the network speed test results may be somewhat different from what you personally experience.

It can be seen that in the case of China Unicom’s 5G network, the measured downlink rate of Xiaomi Mi 10 Extreme Edition speed reached 1009Mbps and the uplink rate reached 84.5Mbps; the measured downlink rate of Unicom 4G speed was 70.5Mbps, and the uplink rate was 33.8Mbps.

Compared with the 84.5Mbps downlink rate of the ordinary 4G network, the 5G network has increased to more than 11.9 times the former.

Read Also: Redmi G Gaming Notebook Review: A Cost-effective Gaming Laptop For only $719.99
Mi 10 Extreme Commemorative Edition Verdict

At the beginning of the year, we wanted to use one word to describe Xiaomi Mi 10 Pro. Finally, we felt that “Supreme Bucket Machine” is an accurate description-a comprehensive bucket machine that achieves flagship standards in all aspects, and no regrets for all-round stacking. And the Xiaomi Mi 10 Extreme Commemorative Edition that debuted this time is obviously more than that.

The Mi 10 Pro is at best a big cup flagship, while the Mi 10 Extreme Commemorative Edition is a “super-big cup stacking Titan”. It goes a step further and achieves the peak level of stacking in the past, present, and future dimensions:

It can be regarded as the aggregation of Xiaomi’s hard work in the past ten years. Each of the ceramic color, bright silver version, and transparent version restores and pays tribute to the three peaks of the past. For old users who miss the old days, such a sense of feeling and design can give full marks.

It does not matter much, it fully aggregates all the materials that can be thought of now, including not limited to the hyperboloid 120Hz ultra-high refresh rate AMOLED screen, X-axis linear motor, NFC, infrared remote control, stereo dual speakers and other obvious small details. In terms of imaging, the main camera of the OV48C outsole is customized, and the IMX586 super telephoto is the same as the flagship S20 Ultra of Samsung. In terms of performance, the flash memory is upgraded to UFS 3.1 on the basis of the 865 platforms + LPDDR5.

It is more like a 120W second charge from the future. It is the first to be mass-produced and equipped on the Mi 10 Extreme Commemorative Edition. It is found that 120W wired fast charging can make the Xiaomi Mi 10 Extreme Commemorative Edition’s 4500 mAh battery return from 1% When the blood reaches 100%, it only takes 23.5 minutes to formally abandon a large number of fast-charging solutions of 30W, 40W, and 65W in the previous era.

Here I still want to focus on the summary, or the imaging system of the Xiaomi Mi 10 Extreme Edition: Lai Pride’s OV48C is a main camera with an outsole, and the photosensitive element area is 1/1.32 inches, which is better than the 100 Megapixel ISOCELL Bright of the Mi 10 series. The HMX sensor (1/1.33) is even larger. From the perspective of the sensor size alone, it is necessary to admit that it is still slightly behind the Sony IMX700 (1/1.28).

However, the first-echelon-level outsole is not all the highlights of the OV48C. Its core feature is the ubiquitous dual native ISO Fusion ultra-dynamic technology, which means that the machine can have dual-sensitivity ISO fusion when the image is output from the sensor. image:

Through the real shot proofs during the evaluation process, it can be found that in the daytime, when the Mi 10 Extreme Commemorative Edition takes photos in a bright light ratio environment, it uses dual native ISO to image two images separately, low native ISO obtains high-light overexposed photos, high native ISO Obtain a photo with rich details in the dark, and combine the two photos into a super dynamic photo with greater dynamic range, better latitude, and better noise control.

At night, the dual native ISO Fusion super dynamic technology can also play a role. While shooting at night to increase the ISO, it does not bring obvious noise, and the dynamic range is large, and the latitude is better.

The IMX586 hardware specifications of the Mi 10 Extreme Edition telephoto end, except for the S20 Ultra with the same solution, are almost stronger than all periscope models among the models on the Qualcomm platform. This is also the reason why the Mi 10 Extreme Edition telephoto end can still output clearer images in the night environment when the night scene algorithm fails to cover the telephoto end.

Read Also: Huawei Mate 40/40 Pro Updates Leaked: All Aeries 90Hz Curved Screen

Get rid of the price yoke, the Mi 10  ultra Extreme Edition is obviously handier on the road of “fever stacking”. It is a perfect stacking Titan in terms of specifications and experience.

Advertisements
Share.

Leave A Reply