According to foreign media WAFB reports, the U.S. state of Louisiana passed a new law (Bill 414), which stipulates that from July 1, the consumption tax on e-cigarette liquid will be raised from 5 cents to 15 cents.
Retailers who purchase these products directly tax-free from authorized online manufacturers are required to pay excise taxes to the Louisiana Department of Revenue on a monthly basis. Fines, penalties and license confiscation will be strictly enforced for wholesalers and retailers who fail to pay their taxes on time. Stores that sell vaped e-cigarette products should expect increased inspections by law enforcement officers.
Starting October 1, 2023, every manufacturer of vaping products and manufacturer of nicotine replacement products that sells products in Louisiana, whether directly or through a wholesaler, retailer, or similar middleman, must register each product with the Louisiana Department of Alcohol and Tobacco Control (ATC). The catalog of vaping products and nicotine replacement products will be available on the ATC website until November 1, 2023.
 New state law set to raise taxes on vape products