Snapchat is a social media app centered around snaps and messages that vanish. However, many users do not really worry about deleting messages. But over the years, Snapchat developers have added more features and updates to the app. This has allowed messages to be saved for as long as the person wants.
Hence, it has become very crucial to know how to permanently delete conversations. There are multiple reasons you would want a message or snap to be deleted.
It can be that you probably sent a message accidentally or are just like a memory to disappear.
Recently, the questions related to the deletion of Snapchat messages have increased. So if you, too, are interested in knowing how to permanently delete Snapchat conversations, you have come to the right place. Just keep reading, and you will get your answers.
We have already established that not only you can take pictures and send snaps to your friends, but you can also chat with them. The unique bit about Snapchat conversations is that as soon as you send someone a message, it disappears after they open it. Of course, that happens if you have not saved the messages.
How are Conversations Saved on Snapchat?
In order to save Snapchat messages line by line in a Chat, all you need to do is tap on the message in the chat — either sent by you or the person you’re talking with — and hold it down until your screen shows three options: “Save in Chat,” “Copy,” or “Delete.”
To keep the message, choose “Save in Chat,” and then that specific message will have a gray background, which means it will stay in your chat indefinitely. Both you and the person you’re chatting with will be able to see it as a saved message in your conversation.
You can also keep your messages for 24 hours instead of vanishing immediately after the other person views them. Just click on your friend’s profile and hover over to the ‘Delete Chats’ option there. Click on it and change it from ‘After Viewing’ to ’24 hours after viewing’.
How to Permanently Delete Snapchat Conversations?
Just like saving chats, you can hold the saved message and click on the “Unsave in Chat” option. That message will no longer remain saved in the chat the next time you open the conversation.
However, if the other person has saved your chat or you have 24 hours view turned on, you can press on the message until you see the option of ‘Delete Chat.’ But getting rid of messages one by one can be tiring, which is why you can delete the entire chat at once. Below are the steps.
- Click on your bitmoji (or the ghost icon if you do not have bitmoji) on the top left corner of your Snapchat.
2.Then touch the cog icon, and you will see tons of options here. In fact, this is also where you log out of your account.
- Slide down to the account action, and there you will see an option “clear conversations.”
- Search for the conversation that you want to remove, and then click on the “X” next to it. That chat will disappear for good. To make sure the thread is really gone, you can go back to your inbox and click on the removed conversation. There will be no trace of it.
You can also use the ‘Snapchat History Erase’ app to delete sent messages on Snapchat. It is an app developed for Snapchat users to get rid of sent messages and snaps from their accounts.
Delete Sent Messages
Snapchat also allows you to permanently delete a sent message even before the recipient ever sees it. In fact, unlike previous versions, you can delete a sent snap too. Just press on the message or snap and click on the button ‘Delete Chat/Snap.’ It will disappear. However, the other person is notified that a chat was deleted. This is because a message appears in the conversation.
If nothing works and you are desperate for the recipient not to receive your message, you can either block the recipient or delete your Snapchat account. Yes, that is a nuclear option, but a year ago, when Snapchat did not have the delete message option, people actually used to do this!
How to Delete a Snapchat Account?
Follow these steps to delete your Snapchat account but make sure to do it as soon as you can. Else the other person might see the snap or the message before you even delete it.
- Search Snapchat Support delete page on Google and open the site.
- Now, enter your username and password in the space provided. If asked, pass the human check test.
- From there, you will be taken to the next page and will be asked to enter your credentials again. As soon as you do, your account will be deleted.
As you can see, unlike before, Snapchat has made it highly convenient for users to delete a message or even a snap before the recipient even sees it. In that case, methods might differ about how you delete them, but the main point is you can.